Dr. Lloyd R. Nelson




Professor Emeritus and Ryegrass Breeder
E-Mail: lr-nelson@tamu.edu


Dr. Nelson was employed by the Texas Agricultural Experiment Station in 1976 as a plant breeder to conduct research on small grain crops (wheat, rye and oats) and annual ryegrass. His main emphasis in the research was to improve disease resistance, winter hardiness, forage and seed yield of the above species. His early research resulted in the release of Bradford soft red winter wheat. Dr. Nelson cooperated in the release of many oat, barley, rye and hard red winter wheat cultivars.  His contribution was in the evaluation of experimental lines for forage potential and for leaf rust, powdery mildew and Septoria diseases.  His ryegrass program was highly successful in the release of TAM 90, TAMTBO, Nelson and Tetrapro forage-type cultivars. He also released Axcella, Axcella 2, Panterra, Intercross and TXR turf-type ryegrass cultivars which have changed the overseeding turf industry in the southern USA.


  • BS, Agriculture Education, Wisconsin State Univ. at River Falls, 1965
  • MS, Agronomy, North Dakota State University, 1968
  • PhD, Agronomy and Plant Breeding, Mississippi State University, 1971

Professional Positions Held:

  • 2011 -present: Texas A&M System, Professor Emeritus and Ryegrass Breeder
  • 1998-2011: Texas A&M System Regent Fellow and Professor
  • 1983-1998: Texas Agricultural Experiment Station, Professor
  • 1976-1983: Texas Agricultural Experient Station, Associate Professor
  • 1971-1976: Georgia Experiment Station, Assistant Professor

Professional Membership:

Honors/Awards Received:

  • Merit Award, American Forage and Grassland Council
  • Fellow, American Society of Agronomy
  • Fellow, Crop Science Society of America
  • Alumni Achievement Award in Agriculture, Mississippi State University
  • Vice-Chancellor’s Award in Excellence for Team Research in Ryegrass
  • Vice-Chancellor’s Award in Excellence for Team Research in Wheat
  • Vice-Chancellor’s Award in Excellence in Ryegrass Breeding
  • Texas A&M University System Regent Fellow

Comments are closed.